Monday 4 November 1901 3:00PM

Wietrowetz String Quartet; James Campbell McInnes baritone; Margaret Wild piano

Brahms, JS Bach, Schumann, Grétry and Mozart


  • Wietrowetz String Quartet* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Gabriele Wietrowetz violin* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Lucy Stone violin* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Cecilia Gates viola* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Florence Hemmings cello* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • James Campbell McInnes baritone* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Margaret Wild piano* *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • C. A. Lidgey accompanist

Gabriele Wietrowetz was born in Ljubljana in 1866 and made her first public appearances at the age of eleven. Over the next few years she achieved significant enough success that she was soon able to travel to Berlin, where she studied with Joseph Joachim and Emanuel Wirth. Acclaimed performances throughout Europe followed, with particular success in quartet and ensemble work, and in 1899 she gave her first concert as leader of the Wietrowetz String Quartet.

The other members of the quartet had previously formed three quarters of the Shinner String Quartet with the pioneering English violinist Emily Shinner, herself a Joachim pupil at the Berlin Hochschule.

For this Wigmore Hall debut they were joined by the English baritone, composer, folk song collector and teacher James Campbell McInnes, who had studied at the Royal College of Music under George Henschel and Charles Santley, and who would go on to give first performances of works by Vaughan Williams and George Butterworth.

  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor Op. 108
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Cantata: Freue dich, erlöste Schar BWV30
        • Wir haben Rast
        • Gelobet sei Gott, gelobet sein Name
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • String Quartet in A minor Op. 41 No. 1
  • Johannes Brahms
        • Wir wandelten, wir zwei zusammen Op. 96 No. 2
  • André-Ernest-Modeste Grétry (1741-1813)
      • Anacréon chez Polycrate
        • Chanson Bachique
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor K478

We also recommend