Wednesday 22 December 2021 7:30PM

Wigmore Soloists

Bliss, Brahms and Ferguson
Live stream starts at 8:00PM



We are sorry to announce that due to unforeseen circumstances Wigmore Soloists are unable to perform the above concert. The concert has therefore been cancelled and will be rescheduled in due course. There will be no replacement.


  • Wigmore Soloists
  • Isabelle van Keulen viola, violin
  • Sini Simonen violin
  • Scott Dickinson viola
  • Kristina Blaumane cello
  • Tim Gibbs double bass
  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Peter Sparks clarinet
  • Robin O'Neill bassoon
  • Alberto Menéndez Escribano horn
  • Emily Beynon flute

In January the ensemble made its Wigmore Hall debut to an audience at home with the popular Schubert Octet, subsequently returning to play music by Bartók, Dohnányi and Reinecke before a live audience. Tonight’s programme from a group consisting of leading soloists sees them take on two works by British composers, Arthur Bliss’s quintet of 1932 and Howard Ferguson’s 1933 octet, which paradoxically began life as a clarinet quintet: its first performance was arranged by Ferguson’s colleague Bliss.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Howard Ferguson (1908-1999)
      • Octet Op. 4
  • Arthur Bliss (1891-1975)
      • Clarinet Quintet F20
  • Interval
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Serenade in D Op. 11 for nonet

We also recommend