Monday 23 May 2022 7:30PM

Wigmore Soloists

Dvořák, Hummel, Janáček and Martinů


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.

Change of Artist
Due to unforeseen circumstances Philip Dukes (viola) is no longer available to take part in the above concert. We are grateful to Rachel Roberts (viola) for stepping in as his replacement. The programme remains the same.


  • Wigmore Soloists
  • Isabelle van Keulen violin
  • Benjamin Gilmore violin
  • Rachel Roberts viola
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Tim Gibbs double bass
  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Fiona Kelly flute
  • Robin O'Neill bassoon
  • Phil Cobb trumpet
  • Alberto Menéndez Escribano horn
  • Michael McHale piano

Tonight’s ensemble is a recent one, formed during the pandemic from a group of top soloists and initially performing to Wigmore audiences at home. Here its programme brings together a varied collection of pieces, including the Czech Bohuslav Martinů’s highly entertaining ballet score of 1927 – whose characters are kitchen utensils – and Hummel’s 1829 septet, its employment of a trumpet amidst its personnel giving it a military feel.

  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Johann Nepomuk Hummel (1778-1837)
      • Septett militaire in C Op. 114
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • Concertino
  • Interval
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959)
      • La revue de cuisine
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Op. 81

We also recommend