Thursday 20 October 2022 7:30PM

Wigmore Soloists

Beethoven, Berwald and Zemlinsky


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Wigmore Soloists
  • Isabelle van Keulen violin
  • Adrien La Marca viola
  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Tim Gibbs double bass
  • Robin O'Neill bassoon
  • Alberto Menéndez Escribano horn
  • Michael McHale piano
  • Torleif Thedéen cello

Formed during the pandemic from a group of soloists, tonight’s ensemble initially made its mark performing to Wigmore audiences at home. With its top-drawer line-up, the ensemble tackles a popular chamber piece by Beethoven plus an 1828 work by the Swedish Romantic Franz Berwald for the identical combination used by his great predecessor. In addition there’s an early (1896) work by Zemlinsky that won him a commendation from Brahms.

  • Franz Berwald (1796-1868)
      • Septet in B flat
  • Alexander Zemlinsky (1871-1942)
      • Clarinet Trio in D minor Op. 3
  • Interval
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
      • Septet in E flat Op. 20

We also recommend