Friday 8 January 2021 7:30PM

Wigmore Soloists: Schubert Octet



This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Wigmore Soloists
  • Isabelle van Keulen violin
  • Laura Samuel violin
  • Timothy Ridout viola
  • Kristina Blaumane cello
  • Tim Gibbs double bass
  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Robin O'Neill bassoon
  • Alberto Menéndez Escribano horn

Tonight’s concert is the debut for brand new ensemble the Wigmore Soloists. Led by Isabelle van Keulen and Michael Collins, the pair is joined by a roster of top musicians for Schubert’s inimitable 1824 Octet. The work was conceived using Beethoven’s Opus20 Septet as a model, adding a second violin to the forces, and is the epitome of the divertimento in its variety and tunefulness.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Octet in F D803

We also recommend