Sunday 27 March 2022 11:30AM

Wihan Quartet

Britten and Taneyev


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Wihan Quartet
  • Leoš Čepický violin
  • Jan Schulmeister violin
  • Jakub Čepický viola
  • Michal Kaňka cello

The music of Sergey Taneyev (1856-1915) is infrequently performed but commands respect. In his lifetime, he was close to and admired by Tchaikovsky and a sufficiently good pianist to give the Moscow première of his composition teacher’s First Piano Concerto. His own string quartets number nine completed works and two left incomplete. The first, dating from 1890, and in five movements, was dedicated to Tchaikovsky.

  • In Memory of Pamela Majaro
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Sergey Taneyev (1856-1915)
      • String Quartet No. 1 in B flat minor Op. 4
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • String Quartet No. 2 in C Op. 36

We also recommend