Friday 10 March 2017 7:30PM

Pacifica Quartet

Haydn, Shostakovich, Ravel and Bartók


  • Pacifica Quartet

The wreckage of lives lost to Stalin’s purges of the 1930s conditions the chilling atmosphere of Shostakovich’s Third String Quartet, written not long after the end of World War Two.

The Pacifica Quartet presents this work of warning in company with the emotional restraint and calm lyricism of Ravel’s youthful String Quartet in F.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in G major Op. 76 No. 1 (ntet)
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 3 in F major Op. 73
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • String Quartet in F major
  • Encore
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
      • String Quartet No. 5 BB110
        • III. Scherzo

We also recommend