Wednesday 11 December 2019 1:00PM

Xinyuan Wang piano

Leeds Piano Competition 2018 Prizewinner Recital


Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


  • Xinyuan Wang piano

Still in his early twenties, the Chinese pianist has received prizes at several leading competitions and was a finalist in Leeds in 2018. His programme brings together two composers, Schubert in expansive mode in his 1825 sonata and Bartók at his most percussive in his example from 1926.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Piano Sonata in D D850
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • 3 Hungarian Folksongs from Csík BB45b
        • Allegro Barbaro BB63
        • Piano Sonata BB88
  • Encore
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Selections from Kinderszenen Op. 15

We also recommend