Tuesday 3 December 2019 1:00PM

Tabea Debus recorder; Alex McCartney theorbo; Jonathan Rees cello

YCAT Lunchtime Series 2019/20


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Tabea Debus recorder
  • Alex McCartney theorbo
  • Jonathan Rees cello

Until the 15th century, music was predominantly an aural tradition. However, with the invention of the printing press this tradition began to disappear. Still, some melodies are innately memorable – why? Described by Classic FM as ‘challenging perceptions of the instrument’, Tabea Debus is constantly exploring the horizons of music for recorder and has performed widely in Europe, Asia and the USA.

  • Young Classical Artists Trust (Reg. Charity No. 326490)
  • YCAT is grateful for support from the Rachel Baker Memorial Charity and the International Music and Art Foundation for this series.
  • Anon
        • Lamento di Tristano (14th century)
  • Gareth Moorcraft (b.1990)
        • New work
  • Francesca Caccini (1587-1641)
        • Ciaccona
  • Anon
        • La Monica or Une jeune fillette (16th century)
  • Pierre Francisque Caroubel (d.1611)
        • Spagnolette from Terpsichore, Musarum Aoniarum
  • Andrea Falconieri (c.1585-1656)
        • La suave melodia
  • Anon
        • Vuestros ojos tienen d'amor from A Musicall Banquet (17th century)
  • Freya Waley-Cohen (b.1989)
        • Coffee
  • Anon
        • When Daphne did from Phoebus fly (with diminutions by Jacob van Eyck)
  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
      • King Arthur Z628
        • Fairest Isle
  • George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
      • Rinaldo HWV7
        • Lascia ch'io pianga
      • Siroe, re di Persia HWV24
        • Jig
  • Pietro Castrucci (1679-1752)
      • Concerto in D minor Op. 10 No. 1
        • I. Allegro
  • Alessandro Marcello (1673-1747)
      • Oboe Concerto in D minor SZ799
        • II. Adagio (with ornaments from Concerto in D minor BWV974) (arr. Johann Sebastian Bach)
  • Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)
        • The Favourite Gigg in Corelli’s 5th Solo with Divisions by Sig. Cateni & Valentini in A minor after Op. 5 No. 5

We also recommend