Michael Collins & Friends

  • Total Time: 73 minutes
  • Cat. Number: WHLIVE0017

£2.40FLAC£2.10MP3Download onlyCD

Buy individual tracks

  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Ailish Tynan soprano
  • Malcolm Martineau piano
  • Isabelle van Keulen violin
  • Peter Brunt violin
  • Lars Anders Tomter viola
  • Daniel Müller-Schott cello
  • Peter Riegelbauer double bass
  • Martin Owen horn
  • Robin O'Neill bassoon

The British clarinettist Michael Collins is one of the most sought-after and successful wind players of his generation, having performed as a soloist with many of the world's major orchestras and most renowned conductors. Collins' distinguished career has been inextricably linked with Wigmore Hall and on this CD he brings his consummate musicianship and unfailing charisma to the Wigmore Hall stage.

The recording of Schubert's Octet in F major features concerto soloists of international repute, including Isabelle van Keulen and Daniel Muller-Schott.

‘Shepherd on the Rock’ is sung with technical brilliance and stunning interpretative vision by the young Irish soprano Ailish Tynan, joined by Malcolm Martineau at the piano. Tynan won the RTÉ Millennium Singer of the Future and the Rosenblatt Song Recital Prize in the 2003 BBC Singer of the World in Cardiff competition, becoming a BBC New Generation Artist. She joined the Young Artists Programme at the Royal Opera House in London and made her Royal Opera debut as Papagena (Die Zauberflöte).

Track Listing

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Octet in F D803

We also recommend