Songs of Vain Glory

Sophie Bevan; Sebastian Wybrew

  • Total Time: 70 minutes
  • Cat. Number: WHLIVE0090

Download onlyCD£7.90FLAC£6.90MP3

Buy individual tracks

  • Sophie Bevan soprano
  • Sebastian Wybrew piano

With each season soprano Sophie Bevan grows in artistic stature and when taking breaks from her distinguished operatic career, she has always felt supremely comfortable performing songs. Her enduring partnership with Sebastian Wybrew began as students at the Royal College of Music and this, their debut release on Wigmore Hall Live, captures her beguiling artistry and astonishing vocal gifts.

A recital to commemorate the anniversary of the beginning of the First World War, Songs of Vain Glory draws from a wider range of songs in English depicting the excitement, disillusionment and peace of those who must leave to fight and the love, fear and loss of those left behind. From the timeless, astral perspective of Finzi's 'At a lunar eclipse' to the oceanic depths of Elgar's 'Submarines' and the cosy evergreen 'We'll gather lilacs'.

Track Listing

Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)

Vol. 4 Moore's Irish Melodies

Arthur Somervell (1863-1937)

Frank Bridge (1879-1941)

Charles Edward Ives (1874-1954)

Ivor Gurney (1890-1937)

Charles Villiers Stanford (1852-1924)

A Sheaf of Songs from Leinster Op. 140

Benjamin Britten

Vol. 3 British Isles

Haydn Wood (1882-1959)

R P Weston/B Lee

Nat Ayer (1887-1952)

Ivor Novello (1893-1951)

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Edward Elgar (1857-1934)

The Fringes of the Fleet

Benjamin Britten

Tom Bowling and Other Song Arrangements

Ivor Gurney

Benjamin Britten

Vol. 4 Moore's Irish Melodies

John Ireland (1879-1962)

Liza Lehmann (1862-1918)

Frank Bridge

Peter Warlock (1894-1930)

Gustav Holst (1874-1934)

12 Songs Op. 48

Charles Villiers Stanford

Songs of the Sea Op. 91

Ivor Novello

We also recommend