Chamber Music Season

Chamber Music Season

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

Wigmore Hall's Chamber Music Season includes performances by internationally renowned chamber musicians.

'...the world's most prestigious chamber music venue'

Evening Standard

Janine Jansen   © Harald Hoffmann

Cancelled: Janine Jansen violin; Denis Kozhukhin piano

Monday 13 April 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Strauss and Grieg

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center © Cherylynn Tsushima

Cancelled: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Wednesday 15 April 2020 7:30PM

Dohnányi, Saint-Saëns and Brahms

Jonathan Biss   © Benjamin Ealovega

Cancelled: Jonathan Biss piano

Monday 20 April 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Joshua Bell   © Richard Ashcroft

Cancelled: Joshua Bell violin; Alessio Bax piano

Thursday 23 April 2020 7:30PM

Schubert, Franck, Bach and Bloch

Duo Kapoor-Leung © Candian Li

Cancelled: Usha Kapoor violin; Edward Leung piano

Saturday 25 April 2020 1:00PM

Saint-Saëns and Corigliano

Tetzlaff Quartet © Giorgia Bertazzi

Cancelled: Tetzlaff Quartet

Saturday 25 April 2020 7:30PM

Schoenberg and Tchaikovsky

Arditti Quartet © Astrid Karger

Cancelled: Arditti Quartet

Wednesday 29 April 2020 7:30PM

Rihm, Gilbert, Felder, Hosokawa and Henze

Rachel Podger © Theresa Pewal

Cancelled: Royal Academy of Music Baroque Soloists; Rachel Podger director

Friday 1 May 2020 7:30PM

The Pleasure Gardens of London

Artemis Quartet

Cancelled: Artemis Quartet; Eckart Runge cello

Saturday 2 May 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven and Auerbach

Leonidas Kavakos   © Marco Borggreve

Cancelled: Leonidas Kavakos violin; Enrico Pace piano

Monday 4 May 2020 7:30PM

Brahms, Schumann, Beethoven and Bartók

Connaught Brass © Les Brewster

Cancelled: Connaught Brass

Tuesday 5 May 2020 1:00PM

Philip Jones International Brass Ensemble Competition Winner

Pavel Haas Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Cancelled: Pavel Haas Quartet; Pavel Nikl viola; Danjulo Ishizaka cello

Tuesday 5 May 2020 7:30PM

Dvořák and Tchaikovsky

Errollyn Wallen © Azzurra Primavera

Cancelled: Musicians from the Royal Northern College of Music

Saturday 9 May 2020 10:30AM

Wallen

Errollyn Wallen © Azzurra Primavera

Cancelled: Musicians from the Royal Northern College of Music

Saturday 9 May 2020 2:00PM

Wallen

Takács Quartet © Amanda Tipton photography

Cancelled: Takács Quartet; Roger Tapping viola

Monday 11 May 2020 7:30PM

Webern and Brahms

Takács Quartet © Amanda Tipton photography

Cancelled: Takács Quartet

Wednesday 13 May 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, F Mendelssohn and Beethoven

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Cancelled: Quatuor Danel

Saturday 16 May 2020 7:30PM

Weinberg and Shostakovich

Vienna Piano Trio © Nancy Horowitz

Cancelled: Vienna Piano Trio

Tuesday 19 May 2020 7:30PM

Brahms

Vienna Piano Trio © Nancy Horowitz

Cancelled: Vienna Piano Trio; Michael Collins clarinet

Wednesday 20 May 2020 7:30PM

Brahms

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Cancelled: Doric String Quartet

Saturday 23 May 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Mendelssohn and Mozart

JACK Quartet © Beowulf Sheehan

Cancelled: JACK Quartet

Sunday 24 May 2020 7:30PM

Macklay, Lachenmann and Lamb

Young Classical Artists Trust

Cancelled: YCAT Public Final Auditions 2020

Friday 29 May 2020 3:00PM

Young Classical Artists Trust: Launching the careers of young artists for 35 years

'Convo' at Royal Albert Hall, March 2019 © Sheila Burnett

Cancelled: Hear Our Voices: Jess Gillam & Ollie Howell in concert with Tri-borough musicians

Saturday 30 May 2020 7:30PM

Ravel, Milhaud, Howell and Harding

Roman Rabinovich   © Robin Mitchell

Cancelled: Roman Rabinovich piano; Paula Murrihy mezzo-soprano; Sara Wolstenholme violin; Christopher Murray cello

Sunday 31 May 2020 3:00PM

London

James Ehnes   © Benjamin Ealovega

Cancelled: James Ehnes violin; Andrew Armstrong piano

Thursday 4 June 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Belcea Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Cancelled: Belcea Quartet

Friday 5 June 2020 7:00PM

Beethoven

Leonore Piano Trio © Eric Richmond

Cancelled: Leonore Piano Trio

Saturday 6 June 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Dvořák and Smetana

Belcea Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Cancelled: Belcea Quartet

Sunday 7 June 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Liselotte Östblom

Cancelled: Liselotte Östblom/Rupert Cox Duo

Tuesday 16 June 2020 5:30PM

Novus String Quartet © Jin-ho Park

Cancelled: Novus String Quartet

Tuesday 16 June 2020 7:30PM

Webern, Mendelssohn and Shostakovich

Trio Shaham Erez Wallfisch © Michael Pavia

Cancelled: Trio Shaham Erez Wallfisch

Saturday 20 June 2020 7:30PM

Haydn and Beethoven

Members of Britten Sinfonia © Benjamin Ealovega

Cancelled: Members of Britten Sinfonia; Iestyn Davies countertenor

Wednesday 24 June 2020 1:00PM

Purcell, Wolf, Gurney, Watts and Schoenberg

Birmingham Contemporary Music Group © Andrew Fox

Cancelled: Birmingham Contemporary Music Group; Geoffrey Paterson conductor; Alice Rossi soprano; Peter Eötvös conductor*

Wednesday 24 June 2020 7:30PM

Saunders, Illean, Eötvös, Kishino and Birtwistle

Jonathan Biss   © Benjamin Ealovega

Cancelled: Jonathan Biss piano

Thursday 25 June 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Tamsin Waley-Cohen   © Ben Russell

Cancelled: Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin; Huw Watkins piano

Friday 26 June 2020 7:00PM

Debussy, Stravinsky, Watkins, Britten and Janáček

Castalian String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Cancelled: Castalian String Quartet

Tuesday 30 June 2020 7:30PM

Brahms and Schumann

Wihan Quartet © Lukáš Novotny

Cancelled: Wihan Quartet

Friday 3 July 2020 7:00PM

Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven

Nicola Benedetti   © Andy Gotts

Cancelled: Nicola Benedetti violin; Alexei Grynyuk piano

Sunday 5 July 2020 7:30PM

Brahms, Schumann, Prokofiev and Ravel

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Cancelled: Quatuor Danel

Thursday 9 July 2020 7:30PM

Shostakovich and Weinberg

Carolin Widmann   © Lennard Rühle

Cancelled: Carolin Widmann violin; Amihai Grosz viola; Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello; Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Sunday 12 July 2020 7:30PM

Concert for Parkinson’s UK

Poulenc: The Life in the Songs

Cancelled: Graham Johnson piano; Sarah Fox soprano; Joël Terrin baritone

Tuesday 14 July 2020 1:00PM

Book Launch Recital

The Endellion String Quartet © Eric Richmond

Cancelled: The Endellion String Quartet

Thursday 16 July 2020 7:30PM

Final Concert

Michael Collins   © Benjamin Ealovega

Cancelled: Michael Collins clarinet; Isabelle van Keulen violin; Laura Samuel violin; Veronika Hagen viola; Torleif Thedéen cello; Katy Woolley horn; Gustavo Nuñes bassoon

Tuesday 21 July 2020 7:30PM

Schubert and Beethoven

Elias String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Cancelled: Elias String Quartet; Alice Neary cello

Thursday 23 July 2020 7:30PM

Taneyev and Schubert

Sheku Kanneh-Mason   © Lars Borges

Cancelled: Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello; Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Sunday 26 July 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Barber, Bridge and Rachmaninov

Leonidas Kavakos   © Marco Borggreve

Leonidas Kavakos violin; Enrico Pace piano

Friday 11 September 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

MILOŠ  © Lars Borges

MILOŠ guitar; Jess Gillam saxophone

Monday 21 September 2020 7:30PM

Dowland, Schubert, Falla, Villa-Lobos and Piazzolla

Martin Fröst   © Mats Bäcker

Martin Fröst clarinet; Schumann Quartet

Tuesday 22 September 2020 7:30PM

Mozart and Brahms

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Quatuor Danel

Wednesday 23 September 2020 7:30PM

Weinberg and Shostakovich

Jean-Guihen Queyras   © François Sechet

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Thursday 24 September 2020 7:30PM

Saygun, Britten and Kodály

Renaud Capuçon

Renaud Capuçon violin; Gautier Capuçon cello; Frank Braley piano

Sunday 27 September 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Anthony Marwood   © Felix van Dijk

IMS Prussia Cove

Thursday 1 October 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Benjamin and Dohnányi

Dame Myra Hess

Nash Ensemble; Simon Crawford-Phillips &; Philip Moore piano duo; Stephanie Gonley violin; Lawrence Power viola

Saturday 3 October 2020 7:00PM

Mozart, Schubert, Brahms and Dvořák

Sir András Schiff   © Nadia F Romanini

Sir András Schiff piano; Young Soloists of the Kronberg Academy

Sunday 4 October 2020 7:30PM

Mozart, Brahms, Schumann and Beethoven

The Mozartists © Benjamin Ealovega

The Mozartists; Ian Page director; Kitty Whately mezzo-soprano

Wednesday 7 October 2020 7:30PM

Sturm und Drang

Gary Hoffman   © William Beaucardet

Gary Hoffman cello; David Selig piano

Thursday 8 October 2020 7:30PM

Fauré, Debussy and Godard

Frank Peter Zimmermann   © Harald Hoffmann

Frank Peter Zimmermann violin; Martin Helmchen piano

Friday 9 October 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Linus Roth   © Kaupo Kikkas

Linus Roth violin; Rachel Roberts viola; Danjulo Ishizaka cello; José Gallardo piano

Saturday 10 October 2020 11:30AM

Weinberg

Linus Roth   © Kaupo Kikkas

Linus Roth violin; Amy Harman bassoon; José Gallardo piano

Saturday 10 October 2020 3:00PM

Weinberg

Ilona Domnich

Ilona Domnich soprano; Linus Roth violin; José Gallardo piano

Saturday 10 October 2020 7:30PM

Weinberg

Britten Sinfonia © Benjamin Ealovega

Members of Britten Sinfonia

Wednesday 14 October 2020 1:00PM

Hildegard of Bingen, Sheen and Knussen

Schumann Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Schumann Quartet

Friday 16 October 2020 7:30PM

Haydn and Mendelssohn

Julia Fischer   © Uwe Arens

Julia Fischer violin

Sunday 18 October 2020 7:30PM

Bach

Julia Fischer   © Uwe Arens

Julia Fischer violin

Monday 19 October 2020 7:30PM

JS Bach

Alban Gerhardt   © Kaupo Kikkas

Alban Gerhardt cello

Saturday 24 October 2020 3:00PM

Bach

Alban Gerhardt   © Kaupo Kikkas

Alban Gerhardt cello

Saturday 24 October 2020 7:30PM

Bach

The Cardinall's Musick © Benjamin Ealovega

The Cardinall's Musick; Andrew Carwood director

Monday 26 October 2020 7:30PM

Mendelssohn, Bach, Schumann and Brahms

Pavel Haas Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Pavel Haas Quartet

Tuesday 27 October 2020 7:30PM

Bartók, Martinů and Janáček

Pavel Haas Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Pavel Haas Quartet

Wednesday 28 October 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Martinů and Smetana

Castalian String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Castalian String Quartet

Saturday 31 October 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven and Franck

Leonore Piano Trio © Eric Richmond

Leonore Piano Trio

Sunday 1 November 2020 7:30PM

Charity Concert in aid of Macmillan Cancer Support and Wigmore Hall's outreach work in Barking

Joshua Bell   © Shervin Lainez

Joshua Bell violin; Timothy Ridout viola; Steven Isserlis cello; Jeremy Denk piano; Simon Callow actor (subject to professional availability); Singers from the Royal Academy of Music

Monday 2 November 2020 7:30PM

Words and Music

Joshua Bell   © Shervin Lainez

Joshua Bell violin; Jeremy Denk piano; Castalian String Quartet

Tuesday 3 November 2020 7:30PM

Dutilleux, Saint-Saëns and Chausson

Steven Isserlis   © Joanna Bergin

Steven Isserlis cello; Connie Shih piano

Wednesday 4 November 2020 7:30PM

Saint-Saëns, Hahn, Adès and more

Stile Antico © Marco Borggreve

Stile Antico

Sunday 8 November 2020 7:30PM

The Journey of the Mayflower

Takács Quartet © Kiduck Kim

Takács Quartet

Tuesday 10 November 2020 7:30PM

Schubert, Berg and Haydn

Takács Quartet © Kiduck Kim

Takács Quartet

Thursday 12 November 2020 7:30PM

Schubert, Bartók and Mozart

Nash Ensemble © K Leighton

Nash Ensemble; Roderick Williams baritone; Simon Crawford-Phillips &; Philip Moore piano duo; Marianne Thorsen violin; Lawrence Power viola; Adrian Brendel cello

Saturday 14 November 2020 7:00PM

Debussy, Poulenc and Fauré

Emerson String Quartet © Jürgen Frank

Emerson String Quartet; Colin Carr cello

Sunday 15 November 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven and Schubert

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Quatuor Danel; Alexander Melnikov piano

Tuesday 17 November 2020 7:30PM

Shostakovich and Weinberg

Quatuor Diotima © Molina Visuals

Quatuor Diotima

Saturday 21 November 2020 11:30AM

Larcher and Ravel

Sarah Aristidou   © Andrej Grilc

Sarah Aristidou soprano; Ilker Arcayürek tenor; Benjamin Baker violin; Maciej Kułakowski cello; Benjamin Frith piano

Saturday 21 November 2020 3:00PM

Larcher

Thomas Larcher   © Eduardus Lee

Thomas Larcher piano; Paul Lewis piano

Saturday 21 November 2020 7:30PM

Larcher, Beethoven, Kurtág and Schubert

Borodin Quartet © Keith Saunders

Borodin Quartet

Thursday 26 November 2020 7:30PM

75th Anniversary Concert

Hagen Quartet © Harald Hoffmann

Hagen Quartet; Jörg Widmann clarinet

Tuesday 1 December 2020 7:30PM

Mozart and Widmann

Frank Peter Zimmermann   © Irène Zandel

Frank Peter Zimmermann violin; Martin Helmchen piano

Friday 4 December 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Simon Rowland-Jones © Kevin Laitak

Carducci String Quartet; Theodore Platt baritone

Saturday 5 December 2020 11:00AM

Beethoven, Rowland-Jones and Barber

Simon Rowland-Jones   © Kevin Laitak

Simon Rowland-Jones viola; Doric String Quartet

Saturday 5 December 2020 2:30PM

Haydn, Bridge and Rowland-Jones

Artemis Quartet © Felix Broede

Artemis Quartet

Saturday 5 December 2020 7:30PM

Mendelssohn, Vasks and Beethoven

Piers Lane and Dame Patricia Routledge © Gussie Welch

Admission: One Shilling

Saturday 12 December 2020 5:00PM

Nash Ensemble © K Leighton

Nash Ensemble; Lucy Crowe soprano; Simon Crawford-Phillips piano; Benjamin Nabarro violin; Adrian Brendel cello; Philippa Davies flute; Richard Hosford clarinet; Lucy Wakeford harp

Saturday 12 December 2020 7:00PM

Stravinsky, Ravel, Debussy and more

Quatuor Ebène © Julien Mignot

Quatuor Ebène

Sunday 13 December 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Quatuor Ebène © Julien Mignot

Quatuor Ebène

Monday 14 December 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Beatrice Rana   © Nicolas Bets

Beatrice Rana piano; Augustin Hadelich violin; Pablo Ferrández cello

Tuesday 15 December 2020 7:30PM

Stravinsky, Shostakovich and Mendelssohn

Albion Quartet © Steve Gullick

Albion Quartet

Sunday 27 December 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven

Sharon Kam   © Nancy Horowitz

Sharon Kam clarinet; Enrico Pace piano

Monday 28 December 2020 7:30PM

Schumann, Lutosławski, Gade and more

Novus String Quartet © Jin-ho Park

Novus String Quartet

Tuesday 29 December 2020 7:30PM

Britten, Larcher and Schubert

Autumn 2020 Wigmore Series

Booking is now open for Wigmore Series concerts and Learning events for September - December 2020

Wigmore Hall's Audience Fund

Help us fully fund our programme of over 1,000 concerts and events every year by making an Audience Fund gift today