Chamber Music Season

Chamber Music Season

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

Wigmore Hall's Chamber Music Season includes performances by internationally renowned chamber musicians.

'...the world's most prestigious chamber music venue'

Evening Standard

Borodin Quartet © Simon van Boxtel

Borodin Quartet

Thursday 30 January 2020 7:30PM

Shostakovich, Beethoven and Borodin

Khatia Buniatishvili   © Gavin Evans

Khatia Buniatishvili piano; Meta4

Saturday 1 February 2020 11:30AM

Kaipainen and Franck

Elena Urioste   © Alessandro Tinozzi

Elena Urioste violin; Eivind Ringstad viola; Andrei Ioniţă cello; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Saturday 1 February 2020 2:00PM

Debussy, Schumann and Mozart

Fatma Said   © Felix Broede

Fatma Said soprano; Catriona Morison mezzo-soprano; Alessandro Fisher tenor; Benjamin Appl baritone; Martin Fröst clarinet; Eivind Ringstad viola; Joseph Middleton piano

Saturday 1 February 2020 4:30PM

Schumann, C Schumann, Schubert, Duparc and Brahms

Allan Clayton   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Allan Clayton tenor; Martin Fröst clarinet; Lawrence Power viola; Elias String Quartet; Christian Ihle Hadland piano

Saturday 1 February 2020 7:30PM

Vaughan Williams, Britten, Mozart and Mendelssohn

Kuss Quartet © Molina Visuals

Kuss Quartet

Tuesday 4 February 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven and Mantovani

Schubertiade © Julius Schmid

Nash Ensemble

Saturday 8 February 2020 5:30PM

Beethoven, Weber and F Mendelssohn

Nash Ensemble © K Leighton

Nash Ensemble; James Gilchrist tenor; Richard Watkins horn; Alasdair Beatson piano; Roger Vignoles piano

Saturday 8 February 2020 7:30PM

Loewe, Reichardt, Zelter, Mendelssohn and Schubert

The Endellion String Quartet © Eric Richmond

The Endellion String Quartet

Wednesday 12 February 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Bartók and Mendelssohn

James Ehnes   © Benjamin Ealovega

James Ehnes violin; Andrew Armstrong piano

Thursday 13 February 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Friday 14 February 2020 7:30PM

Strauss, F Mendelssohn, Schumann, Glinka and Schubert

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Saturday 15 February 2020 7:30PM

Mozart, Dohnányi and Beethoven

London Winds © Eric Richmond

London Winds; Michael Collins clarinet; Michael McHale piano

Monday 17 February 2020 7:30PM

Ligeti, Janáček, Thuille and Mozart

Pavel Haas Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Pavel Haas Quartet; Boris Giltburg piano

Wednesday 19 February 2020 7:30PM

Prokofiev and Shostakovich

Leif Ove Andsnes   © Gregor Hohenberg

Leif Ove Andsnes piano; Musicians from the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Thursday 20 February 2020 7:30PM

Mozart

Artemis Quartet © Felix Broede

Artemis Quartet

Saturday 22 February 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Widmann and Beethoven

Castalian String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Castalian String Quartet; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Wednesday 26 February 2020 7:30PM

Schumann and Brahms

Septura

Septura

Thursday 27 February 2020 7:30PM

Gabrieli, Casulana, de Lassus, Mendelssohn and C Schumann

Belcea Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Belcea Quartet

Monday 2 March 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Belcea Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Belcea Quartet

Tuesday 3 March 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Sean Shibe   © Kaupo Kikkas

Sean Shibe guitar

Friday 6 March 2020 7:30PM

Fennessy, Gubaidulina, Bach and Lentz

Elizabeth Watts   © Marco Borggreve

Elizabeth Watts soprano; Nash Ensemble

Saturday 7 March 2020 7:30PM

Ries, Rossini and Schubert

Ruby Hughes   © Phil Sharp

Ruby Hughes soprano; Natalie Clein cello; Julius Drake piano

Monday 9 March 2020 1:00PM

Kodály, Pritchard, Tavener and more

Tabea Zimmermann © Marco Borggreve

Daniel Sepec violin; Tabea Zimmermann viola; Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Wednesday 11 March 2020 7:00PM

Beethoven

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Doric String Quartet

Saturday 14 March 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Britten, Tarrodi and Sibelius

Škampa Quartet © Vojtech Havlík

Škampa Quartet

Monday 16 March 2020 7:30PM

Suk, Janáček and Dvořák

Brentano String Quartet © Juergen Frank

Brentano String Quartet

Saturday 21 March 2020 7:30PM

Songs of Thanksgiving

Cuarteto Casals © Igor Cat

Cuarteto Casals

Monday 23 March 2020 7:30PM

Mozart

Mark-Anthony Turnage © Philip Gatward

Royal Academy of Music students Side by Side with members of the Nash Ensemble

Tuesday 24 March 2020 5:00PM

Introduced by Gillian Moore CBE Director of Music, Southbank Centre

Mark-Anthony Turnage © Philip Gatward

Mark-Anthony Turnage 60th Birthday Concert

Tuesday 24 March 2020 7:30PM

Stravinsky, Turnage, Knussen, Ravel and Benjamin

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Quatuor Danel

Wednesday 25 March 2020 7:30PM

Shostakovich and Weinberg

Simon Crawford-Phillips

Wye Valley Chamber Music Festival 20th Anniversary

Tuesday 31 March 2020 7:30PM

Bridge, Watkins, Purcell and more

Castalian String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Castalian String Quartet; Nils Mönkemeyer viola; Ursula Smith cello

Friday 3 April 2020 7:30PM

Brahms and Schumann

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Doric String Quartet; Alina Ibragimova violin; Cédric Tiberghien piano

Wednesday 8 April 2020 7:30PM

Lekeu, Debussy and Chausson

Janine Jansen   © Harald Hoffmann

Janine Jansen violin; Denis Kozhukhin piano

Monday 13 April 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Strauss and Grieg

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center © Cherylynn Tsushima

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Wednesday 15 April 2020 7:30PM

Dohnányi, Saint-Saëns and Brahms

Jonathan Biss   © Benjamin Ealovega

Jonathan Biss piano

Monday 20 April 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Joshua Bell   © Richard Ashcroft

Joshua Bell violin; Alessio Bax piano

Thursday 23 April 2020 7:30PM

Schubert, Franck, Bach and Bloch

Duo Kapoor-Leung © Candian Li

Usha Kapoor violin; Edward Leung piano

Saturday 25 April 2020 1:00PM

Saint-Saëns and Corigliano

Tetzlaff Quartet © Giorgia Bertazzi

Tetzlaff Quartet

Saturday 25 April 2020 7:30PM

Schoenberg and Tchaikovsky

Arditti Quartet © Astrid Karger

Arditti Quartet

Wednesday 29 April 2020 7:30PM

Rihm, Gilbert, Felder, Hosokawa and Henze

Rachel Podger © Theresa Pewal

Royal Academy of Music Baroque Soloists; Rachel Podger director

Friday 1 May 2020 7:30PM

The Pleasure Gardens of London

Artemis Quartet

Artemis Quartet; Eckart Runge cello

Saturday 2 May 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven and Auerbach

Leonidas Kavakos   © Marco Borggreve

Leonidas Kavakos violin; Enrico Pace piano

Monday 4 May 2020 7:30PM

Brahms, Schumann, Beethoven and Bartók

Connaught Brass © Les Brewster

Connaught Brass

Tuesday 5 May 2020 1:00PM

Philip Jones International Brass Ensemble Competition Winner

Pavel Haas Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Pavel Haas Quartet; Pavel Nikl viola; Danjulo Ishizaka cello

Tuesday 5 May 2020 7:30PM

Dvořák and Tchaikovsky

Errollyn Wallen © Azzurra Primavera

Musicians from the Royal Northern College of Music

Saturday 9 May 2020 10:30AM

Wallen

Errollyn Wallen © Azzurra Primavera

Musicians from the Royal Northern College of Music

Saturday 9 May 2020 2:00PM

Wallen

Takács Quartet © Amanda Tipton photography

Takács Quartet; Roger Tapping viola

Monday 11 May 2020 7:30PM

Webern and Brahms

Takács Quartet © Amanda Tipton photography

Takács Quartet

Wednesday 13 May 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, F Mendelssohn and Beethoven

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Quatuor Danel

Saturday 16 May 2020 7:30PM

Weinberg and Shostakovich

Vienna Piano Trio © Nancy Horowitz

Vienna Piano Trio

Tuesday 19 May 2020 7:30PM

Brahms

Vienna Piano Trio © Nancy Horowitz

Vienna Piano Trio; Michael Collins clarinet

Wednesday 20 May 2020 7:30PM

Brahms

Doric String Quartet © George Garnier

Doric String Quartet

Saturday 23 May 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Mendelssohn and Mozart

JACK Quartet © Beowulf Sheehan

JACK Quartet

Sunday 24 May 2020 7:30PM

Macklay, Lachenmann and Lamb

Young Classical Artists Trust

YCAT Public Final Auditions 2020

Friday 29 May 2020 3:00PM

Young Classical Artists Trust: Launching the careers of young artists for 35 years

'Convo' at Royal Albert Hall, March 2019 © Sheila Burnett

Hear Our Voices: Jess Gillam & Ollie Howell in concert with Tri-borough musicians

Saturday 30 May 2020 7:30PM

Ravel, Milhaud, Howell and Harding

Roman Rabinovich   © Robin Mitchell

Roman Rabinovich piano; Paula Murrihy mezzo-soprano; Sara Wolstenholme violin; Christopher Murray cello

Sunday 31 May 2020 3:00PM

London

James Ehnes   © Benjamin Ealovega

James Ehnes violin; Andrew Armstrong piano

Thursday 4 June 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Belcea Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Belcea Quartet

Friday 5 June 2020 7:00PM

Beethoven

Leonore Piano Trio © Eric Richmond

Leonore Piano Trio

Saturday 6 June 2020 7:30PM

Haydn, Dvořák and Smetana

Belcea Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Belcea Quartet

Sunday 7 June 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Liselotte Östblom

Liselotte Östblom/Rupert Cox Duo

Tuesday 16 June 2020 5:30PM

Novus String Quartet © Jin-ho Park

Novus String Quartet

Tuesday 16 June 2020 7:30PM

Webern, Mendelssohn and Shostakovich

Trio Shaham Erez Wallfisch © Michael Pavia

Trio Shaham Erez Wallfisch

Saturday 20 June 2020 7:30PM

Haydn and Beethoven

Members of Britten Sinfonia © Benjamin Ealovega

Members of Britten Sinfonia; Iestyn Davies countertenor

Wednesday 24 June 2020 1:00PM

Purcell, Wolf, Gurney, Watts and Schoenberg

Birmingham Contemporary Music Group © Andrew Fox

Birmingham Contemporary Music Group; Geoffrey Paterson conductor; Alice Rossi soprano; Peter Eötvös conductor*

Wednesday 24 June 2020 7:30PM

Saunders, Illean, Eötvös, Kishino and Birtwistle

Jonathan Biss   © Benjamin Ealovega

Jonathan Biss piano

Thursday 25 June 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven

Tamsin Waley-Cohen   © Ben Russell

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin; Huw Watkins piano

Friday 26 June 2020 7:00PM

Debussy, Stravinsky, Watkins, Britten and Janáček

Castalian String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Castalian String Quartet

Tuesday 30 June 2020 7:30PM

Brahms and Schumann

Wihan Quartet © Lukáš Novotny

Wihan Quartet

Friday 3 July 2020 7:00PM

Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven

Nicola Benedetti   © Andy Gotts

Nicola Benedetti violin; Alexei Grynyuk piano

Sunday 5 July 2020 7:30PM

Brahms, Schumann, Prokofiev and Ravel

Quatuor Danel © Marco Borggreve

Quatuor Danel

Thursday 9 July 2020 7:30PM

Shostakovich and Weinberg

Carolin Widmann   © Lennard Rühle

Carolin Widmann violin; Amihai Grosz viola; Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello; Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Sunday 12 July 2020 7:30PM

Concert for Parkinson’s UK

Poulenc: The Life in the Songs

Graham Johnson piano; Sarah Fox soprano; Joël Terrin baritone

Tuesday 14 July 2020 1:00PM

Book Launch Recital

The Endellion String Quartet © Eric Richmond

The Endellion String Quartet

Thursday 16 July 2020 7:30PM

Final Concert

Michael Collins   © Benjamin Ealovega

Michael Collins clarinet; Isabelle van Keulen violin; Laura Samuel violin; Veronika Hagen viola; Torleif Thedéen cello; Katy Wooley horn; Gustavo Nuñes bassoon

Tuesday 21 July 2020 7:30PM

Schubert and Beethoven

Elias String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Elias String Quartet; Alice Neary cello

Thursday 23 July 2020 7:30PM

Taneyev and Schubert

Sheku Kanneh-Mason   © Lars Borges

Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello; Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Sunday 26 July 2020 7:30PM

Beethoven, Barber, Bridge and Rachmaninov

Spring 2020 Wigmore Series

Booking is now open for Wigmore Series concerts and Learning events for January - March 2020.

Summer 2019 Wigmore Series

Priority booking is now open for concerts and Learning events up to July 2020.

Wigmore Hall's Audience Fund

Help us fully fund our programme of over 1,000 concerts and events every year