Contemporary Music Series

Contemporary Music Series

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

Wigmore Hall stands as a major supporter of contemporary chamber music and song, as commissioner of new works and champion of living composers. The Hall is determined to bring fresh creative energy to the repertoire, not least through its extensive commissioning programme and promotion of world, UK and London premières.

'Our commissioning scheme is already the most extensive in Europe for chamber music. We plan to present up to 20 commissions per season from 2013 and make Wigmore Hall one of the world's foremost centres for contemporary chamber music.'

Wigmore Hall Director, John Gilhooly

We are very grateful to all those who have generously supported the Contemporary Music Series, including Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne, The Marchus Trust, and André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation.

Piatti Quartet © Viktor Erik Emanuel

Piatti Quartet

Saturday 25 May 2019 1:00PM

Purcell, Turnage and Walton

Kuss Quartet © Molina Visuals

Kuss Quartet

Monday 27 May 2019 1:00PM

Poppe and Beethoven

Igor Levit   © Robbie Lawrence

Igor Levit piano

Monday 27 May 2019 7:30PM

Stevenson

The Endellion String Quartet © Eric Richmond

The Endellion String Quartet

Wednesday 29 May 2019 7:30PM

Beethoven, Beamish, Boondiskulchok and more

Nicholas Daniel   © Eric Richmond

Nicholas Daniel oboe; Lucy Wakeford harp; Wigmore Oboe-Fest Ensemble

Saturday 8 June 2019 11:30AM

Nicholas Daniel Oboe Day

Nicholas Daniel   © Eric Richmond

Nicholas Daniel oboe

Saturday 8 June 2019 7:30PM

Nicholas Daniel Oboe Day

Viktoria Mullova   © Henry Fair

Viktoria Mullova violin

Friday 14 June 2019 10:00PM

Bach, Fujikura, Benjamin, Mullov-Abbado and Prokofiev

Gerald Finley   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Gerald Finley bass-baritone; Julius Drake piano

Saturday 15 June 2019 7:30PM

Schubert, Rachmaninov, Turnage and Britten

Nicolas Altstaedt   © Marco Borggreve

Nicolas Altstaedt cello

Monday 17 June 2019 1:00PM

Bach and Dutilleux

BirdWorld

Bechstein Sessions: BirdWorld

Tuesday 18 June 2019 6:15PM

Leeds Lieder Festival

Leeds Lieder Fundraising Gala

Wednesday 19 June 2019 7:00PM

Chineke! Ensemble © Eric Richmond

Chineke! Ensemble

Friday 21 June 2019 10:00PM

Saint-Saëns, Wallen and Coleridge-Taylor

Sean Shibe   © Kaupo Kikkas

Sean Shibe guitar

Friday 28 June 2019 10:00PM

softLOUD

Colin Currie Quartet

Colin Currie Quartet

Monday 1 July 2019 1:00PM

Pereira, Volans, Stockhausen and Reich

Brett Polegato   © Peter Phoa

Brett Polegato baritone; Iain Burnside piano

Wednesday 3 July 2019 7:30PM

A Transatlantic Voyage: English Songs from Here to There

Adam Walker   © Christa Holka

Adam Walker flute; Sean Shibe guitar

Friday 12 July 2019 10:00PM

Piazzolla, Debussy, Takemitsu, Poulenc and Shankar

Alexi Kenney   © Yang Bao

Alexi Kenney violin; Orion Weiss piano

Wednesday 17 July 2019 7:30PM

Bach, Wiancko, Schubert and more

Susan Bullock   © Christina Raphaelle

Susan Bullock soprano; Richard Sisson piano

Friday 19 July 2019 10:00PM

Songs my father taught me

Vijay Iyer   © Barbara Rigon

Vijay Iyer piano; Craig Taborn piano

Sunday 22 September 2019 7:00PM

The Transitory Poems

Vijay Iyer   © Vaughn Browne

Vijay Iyer piano, Fender Rhodes, electronics; Mike Ladd lyrics, electronics

Sunday 22 September 2019 10:00PM

The Evolution Tapes

Britten Sinfonia © Harry Rankin

Britten Sinfonia; Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Wednesday 2 October 2019 1:00PM

CPE Bach, Falla, Osborn and Strauss

Jess Gillam   © Kaupo Kikkas

Jess Gillam saxophone; Zeynep Özsuca piano

Monday 7 October 2019 1:00PM

Clyne, Bartók, Marcello and more

Elias String Quartet © Kaupo Kikkas

Elias String Quartet

Monday 14 October 2019 7:30PM

Haydn, Hindson and Schubert

Lawrence Power   © Jack Liebeck

Lawrence Power viola, violin; Simon Crawford-Phillips piano

Monday 21 October 2019 1:00PM

Benjamin, Adès, Couperin, Ravel and Stravinsky

Colin Currie   © Marco Borggreve

Colin Currie percussion; Huw Watkins piano

Thursday 31 October 2019 7:30PM

Maric, Britten, Duddell and more

Tamsin Waley-Cohen   © Patrick Allen

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin

Saturday 2 November 2019 11:00AM

Waley-Cohen, Benjamin, Knussen, Bach and Kurtág

Pavel Haas Quartet © Marco Borggreve

Pavel Haas Quartet

Saturday 2 November 2019 7:30PM

Čekovská, Schulhoff, Smetana and Tchaikovsky

Joanna MacGregor

Joanna MacGregor piano

Monday 11 November 2019 1:00PM

Birds, Grounds, Chaconnes

Elena Bashkirova   © Nikolaj Lund

Young Soloists of the Kronberg Academy; Elena Bashkirova piano

Sunday 17 November 2019 7:30PM

Beethoven, Dohnányi and Schnittke

Danny Driver   © Kaupo Kikkas

Danny Driver piano

Monday 18 November 2019 7:30PM

McKay, Ravel, Jolas and Beethoven

Jamie Barton   © Rebecca Fay

Jamie Barton mezzo-soprano; Kathleen Kelly piano

Saturday 30 November 2019 7:30PM

Warren, Boulanger, Beach and more

Tenebrae © Chris O’Donovan

Tenebrae; Nigel Short conductor; Olivia Jageurs harp

Sunday 1 December 2019 7:30PM

Gregorian Chant, Peacock, L'Estrange and more

Bertrand Chamayou   © Marco Borggreve

Bertrand Chamayou piano

Monday 2 December 2019 7:30PM

Saint-Saëns, Fauré, Chabrier and more

Stephen Hough   © Jiyang Chen

Stephen Hough piano; Steven Isserlis cello

Tuesday 3 December 2019 7:30PM

Suk, Brahms and Hough

Mario Häring   © Kaupo Kikkas

Mario Häring piano

Tuesday 10 December 2019 1:00PM

Leeds Piano Competition 2018 Prizewinner Recital

Melvyn Tan   © José Pedro Salinas

Melvyn Tan piano; Calefax; Signum Quartet

Wednesday 11 December 2019 7:30PM

Kevin Volans’ 70th Birthday

Martin Fröst   © Sony

Martin Fröst clarinet; Roland Pöntinen piano

Monday 16 December 2019 7:30PM

French Beauties and Swedish Beasts

Claron McFadden   © Erik de Jong

Claron McFadden soprano; Alexander Melnikov piano

Sunday 22 December 2019 7:30PM

Prokofiev, Cage, Berio and more

Beethoven Festival Weekend

Booking is now open for 10 concerts over 2 days to kick-off Wigmore Hall's season-long celebration of Beethoven.

Autumn 2019 Wigmore Series

Experience exceptional classical music. Priority booking is now open for September – December 2019.

Wigmore Hall's Audience Fund

Help us fully fund our programme of over 1,000 concerts and events every year