Early Music and Baroque

Early Music and Baroque

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

The Hall's intimate acoustic is ideal for period instruments, and this series includes some of the finest ensembles and soloists performing today.

La Serenissima © Eric Richmond

La Serenissima; Adrian Chandler director, violin; Hilary Summers contralto; Neal Davies bass-baritone

Sunday 9 September 2018 7:30PM

Caldara, Conti and Vivaldi

Ian Page

Classical Opera/The Mozartists

Tuesday 18 September 2018 7:30PM

Mozart: Bastien und Bastienne

The Cardinall's Musick © Benjamin Ealovega

The Cardinall's Musick

Thursday 27 September 2018 7:30PM

The Company of Heaven

Mahan Esfahani  © Bernhard Musil/Deutsche Grammophon

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Monday 1 October 2018 7:30PM

Bach

Sandrine Piau  © Sandrine Expilly/Naive

Sandrine Piau soprano; Sebastian Wienand harpsichord; Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Plamena Nikitassova director, violin

Monday 8 October 2018 7:30PM

Rebel, Rameau, Clérambault and more

Richard Egarr  © Marco Borggreve

Richard Egarr harpsichord

Monday 15 October 2018 7:30PM

Bach

Ensemble Correspondances © Molina Visuals

Ensemble Correspondances

Sunday 21 October 2018 7:30PM

Purcell and Charpentier

Dame Sarah Connolly  © Peter Warren

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; Tenebrae vocal ensemble; Nigel Short conductor; Eugene Asti piano

Wednesday 24 October 2018 7:30PM

Elgar, Gurney, Bingham and more

The English Concert © Richard Haughton

The English Concert; Harry Bicket director, fortepiano

Sunday 28 October 2018 7:30PM

The Art of Arrangement

L'Arpeggiata © Michael Uneffer

L'Arpeggiata; Christina Pluhar director, theorbo; Céline Scheen soprano

Wednesday 31 October 2018 7:30PM

Himmelmusik

Florilegium © Amit Lennon

Florilegium; Elin Manahan Thomas soprano

Monday 5 November 2018 7:30PM

Handel and Vivaldi

Vox Luminis © Ola Renska

Vox Luminis

Thursday 8 November 2018 7:30PM

Musikalische Exequien

Harry Bicket  © Richard Haughton

The English Concert; Harry Bicket director, harpsichord, organ

Tuesday 20 November 2018 7:30PM

Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland: Music for Advent

Arcangelo © Adam Swann

Arcangelo; Louise Alder soprano; Tim Mead countertenor

Friday 7 December 2018 7:30PM

Scarlatti, Handel and Porpora

La Nuova Musica © Nick Rutter

La Nuova Musica; David Bates director; Lucy Crowe soprano

Tuesday 11 December 2018 7:30PM

Vivaldi, Corelli, Handel and Nico Muhly

Mahan Esfahani  © Bernhard Musil/Deutsche Grammophon

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Saturday 15 December 2018 7:30PM

Bach

Avi Avital  © Christie Goodwin/DG

Avi Avital mandolin; Venice Baroque Orchestra

Saturday 22 December 2018 7:30PM

Geminiani, Vivaldi and Paisiello

Dunedin Consort © David Barbour

Dunedin Consort; John Butt director, harpsichord

Monday 31 December 2018 7:00PM

Bach

2018/19 Wigmore Series

Book now for Wigmore Series concerts and Learning events from September to December 2018.

Supporting our 2018/19 Season

Find out more about how you can help us

Annual Fund Appeal - Help us raise £100,000 for 2018/19

Please help ensure that our programme can remain as vibrant and engaging as ever.