Early Music and Baroque

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

The Hall's intimate acoustic is ideal for period instruments, and this series includes some of the finest ensembles and soloists performing today.

Early Opera Company © Charlotte Burke

Early Opera Company; Mary Bevan; Benjamin Hulett; James Platt

Wednesday 29 March 2017 7:30PM

Handel and Boyce

EXAUDI © Matthew Andrews

EXAUDI; James Weeks director

Saturday 1 April 2017 7:30PM

15th Anniversary Concert

Les Talens Lyriques © Eric Larrayadieu

Les Talens Lyriques; Christophe Rousset director, harpsichord; Jocelyn Daubigney flute

Sunday 9 April 2017 7:30PM

Bach et La France

Ensemble Plus Ultra

Ensemble Plus Ultra

Monday 10 April 2017 7:30PM

Victoria, Lobo and Tejeda

Le Concert Spirituel © Guy Vivien

Le Concert Spirituel; Hervé Niquet director

Wednesday 12 April 2017 7:30PM

Leçons de Ténèbres

London Handel Players © Chris Christodoulou

London Handel Players; Rowan Pierce soprano

Monday 17 April 2017 7:30PM

Handel and Telemann: Long-Distance Musical Friends

Thomas Dunford  © Charles Plumley

Thomas Dunford lute

Thursday 20 April 2017 7:30PM

Lachrimae

Arcangelo © Adam Swann

Arcangelo

Friday 5 May 2017 10:00PM

Biber, Buxtehude, Schmelzer and Kühnel

Patricia Kopatchinskaja  © Julia Wesely

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin; Anthony Romaniuk harpsichord, piano

Sunday 7 May 2017 7:30PM

CPE Bach, Crumb, Ligeti and more

Ian Page  © Sheila Rock

Classical Opera; Ian Page director; Kristian Bezuidenhout harpsichord; Soraya Mafi soprano

Tuesday 16 May 2017 7:30PM

MOZART 250

Alison Balsom  © Jason Joyce

Alison Balsom trumpet; Lucy Crowe soprano; The Balsom Ensemble

Thursday 18 May 2017 7:30PM

Baroque Duet

Stile Antico © Marco Borggreve

Stile Antico

Tuesday 30 May 2017 7:30PM

'Divine Consolations': Music of Reflection and Hope by Bach and his Predecessors

The English Concert © Richard Haughton

The English Concert; Harry Bicket director, harpsichord; Nadja Zwiener violin; Joseph Crouch cello; Christopher Ainslie countertenor

Wednesday 7 June 2017 7:30PM

Esnoga: Jerusalem of the North

The King's Consort © Keith Saunders

The King's Consort

Wednesday 21 June 2017 7:30PM

Bach: The Four Orchestral Suites

Fretwork © Wendy Gillespie

Fretwork; Simon Callow narrator

Friday 23 June 2017 6:30PM

The World Encompassed

Cecilia Bartoli  © Uli Weber/Decca

Cecilia Bartoli mezzo-soprano; Philippe Jaroussky countertenor; Ensemble Artaserse

Saturday 24 June 2017 7:30PM

Idolo Mio

Florilegium © John Yip Brandies

Florilegium; Ashley Solomon director; Clare Wilkinson mezzo-soprano

Sunday 25 June 2017 7:30PM

Telemann 205th Anniversary Concert

Isabelle Faust  © Felix Broede

Isabelle Faust violin; Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin; Bernard Forck leader, violin

Thursday 29 June 2017 7:30PM

JS Bach and CPE Bach

The Sixteen

The Sixteen; Harry Christophers director

Friday 30 June 2017 7:30PM

Purcell

The Cardinall's Musick © Dmitri Gutjahr

The Cardinall's Musick; Andrew Carwood director

Tuesday 18 July 2017 7:30PM

Out of the Deep

Arcangelo © Adam Swann

Arcangelo; Jonathan Cohen director, harpsichord; Sophie Junker soprano

Friday 21 July 2017 7:00PM

Clérambault, Couperin and de Montéclair