Early Music and Baroque

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

The Hall's intimate acoustic is ideal for period instruments, and this series includes some of the finest ensembles and soloists performing today.

Dunedin Consort © David Barbour

Dunedin Consort; John Butt director

Saturday 16 December 2017 7:30PM

Bach

Ensemble Plus Ultra

Ensemble Plus Ultra

Wednesday 20 December 2017 7:30PM

Victoria, Guerrero, Byrd and more

Rinaldo Alessandrini

Concerto Italiano; Rinaldo Alessandrini director

Friday 29 December 2017 7:30PM

JS Bach

Arcangelo © Adam Swann

Arcangelo

Sunday 31 December 2017 7:00PM

Blow, Vivaldi, Handel and Purcell

Helsinki Baroque Orchestra © Marco Borggreve

Helsinki Baroque Orchestra; Aapo Häkkinen; Carolyn Sampson

Saturday 6 January 2018 7:30PM

Telemann and Bach

Sonia Prina

Sonia Prina contralto; Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin

Thursday 11 January 2018 7:30PM

Handel, Ferrandini, Bach, Locatelli and Vivaldi

The Sixteen © Molina Visuals

The Sixteen

Monday 22 January 2018 7:30PM

Purcell – Royal Welcome Songs for King Charles II

Ian Page  © Sheila Rock

Classical Opera/The Mozartists; Ian Page; Katy Bircher; Chiara Skerath

Tuesday 23 January 2018 7:30PM

Haydn, Jommelli, JC Bach and more

Daniel Behle  © Julian Laidig

Daniel Behle tenor; Armonia Atenea; Markellos Chryssicos director, harpsichord

Sunday 4 February 2018 7:30PM

Opera Arias

The English Concert © Richard Haughton

The English Concert; Harry Bicket; Nadja Zwiener; Jonathan Manson; Dorothee Mields

Thursday 8 February 2018 7:30PM

Buxtehude: Bach's Hero

Mahan Esfahani  © Bernhard Musil/Deutsche Grammophon

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Friday 9 February 2018 7:30PM

Bach

Phantasm © Marco Borggreve

Phantasm

Tuesday 20 February 2018 7:30PM

The world Byrd: consorts, hymns, divisions and dances

Les Talens Lyriques © Eric Larrayadieu

Les Talens Lyriques

Monday 26 February 2018 7:30PM

Love and death in Venice

Florilegium © John Yip Brandies

Florilegium; Ashley Solomon director; Robin Blaze countertenor

Thursday 8 March 2018 7:30PM

Handel, Pergolesi, Corrette and more

London Handel Orchestra © Susan Porter-Thomas

London Handel Orchestra; Adrian Butterfield; Erica Eloff; William Wallace; Josep-Ramon Olivé

Thursday 22 March 2018 7:30PM

Handel: Esther

Dunedin Consort © David Barbour

Dunedin Consort; John Butt director

Sunday 25 March 2018 5:00PM

Bach: St Matthew Passion

Paul O'Dette  © Jennifer Girard

Paul O'Dette lute

Monday 26 March 2018 7:30PM

The 3 Orfeos

Les Arts Florissants © Pascal Gely

Les Arts Florissants; Paul Agnew director, tenor

Tuesday 27 March 2018 7:30PM

JS Bach, JC Bach, Kuhnau and JL Bach

Les Folies françoises © Géraldine Aresteanu

Les Folies françoises; Patrick Cohën-Akenine director, violin

Wednesday 28 March 2018 7:30PM

Bach the European