Early Music and Baroque

Early Music and Baroque

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

The Hall's intimate acoustic is ideal for period instruments, and this series includes some of the finest ensembles and soloists performing today.

Carolyn Sampson   © Marco Borggreve

Carolyn Sampson soprano; The King's Consort; Robert King director

Wednesday 27 March 2019 7:30PM

Handel in Italy

Mahan Esfahani   © Bernhard Musil

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Saturday 30 March 2019 7:30PM

Bach

Anna Huntley   © Kaupo Kikkas

Anna Dennis soprano (as Aci); Anna Huntley mezzo-soprano (as Galatea); Edward Grint bass-baritone (as Polifemo); London Handel Orchestra; Adrian Butterfield conductor

Wednesday 3 April 2019 7:30PM

Handel

Arcangelo © Adam Swann

Arcangelo; Jonathan Cohen director, harpsichord; Emőke Baráth soprano; Anna Reinhold mezzo-soprano; Callum Thorpe bass-baritone

Friday 5 April 2019 7:30PM

Vivaldi

Solomon’s Knot  © Gerard Collett

Solomon’s Knot: St John Passion

Tuesday 16 April 2019 7:00PM

Bach and Handl

The Sixteen © Molina Visuals

The Sixteen; Harry Christophers conductor; Michael Pennington narrator

Wednesday 17 April 2019 7:30PM

Music from the Chapel Royal with excerpts from Pepys’ diary

Trio Mediæval © Ingvil Skeie Ljones

Trio Mediæval

Saturday 20 April 2019 7:30PM

Lumen de Lumine

Ensemble Correspondances © Molina Visuals

Ensemble Correspondances; Sébastien Daucé conductor, organ; Sophie Karthäuser soprano

Monday 22 April 2019 7:30PM

Leçons des Ténèbres

The Orlando Consort © Eric Richmond

The Orlando Consort

Thursday 25 April 2019 7:30PM

The Secrets of Heaven

Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin © Uwe Arens

Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin; Georg Kallweit leader

Saturday 4 May 2019 7:30PM

Handel and Telemann

Christina Pluhar © Michal Novak

L'Arpeggiata

Tuesday 28 May 2019 7:30PM

Time Stands Still

Cinquecento © Theresa Pewal

Cinquecento; Nicholas Todd tenor

Friday 7 June 2019 7:30PM

Josquin des Prez and his legacy

The English Concert © Oliver Rosser © Feast Creative

The English Concert

Tuesday 11 June 2019 7:30PM

Orpheus of Princes

Rihab Azar

Stile Antico; Rihab Azar oud

Wednesday 12 June 2019 7:30PM

Songs of Longing and Exile

The Cardinall's Musick © Benjamin Ealovega

The Cardinall's Musick

Thursday 20 June 2019 7:30PM

The Company of Heaven III

Peter Whelan © Jen Owens

Ensemble Marsyas

Monday 24 June 2019 7:30PM

Mozart

David Bates © Nick Rutter

La Nuova Musica; Christine Rice mezzo-soprano; David Bates conductor

Thursday 27 June 2019 7:30PM

Mozart, Traetta and Haydn

Rachel Podger   © Theresa Pewal

Rachel Podger violin, director; Brecon Baroque

Monday 1 July 2019 7:30PM

Vivaldi and Bach

Louise Alder © Gerard Collett

The Mozartists

Monday 8 July 2019 7:30PM

Mozart’s Travels

Mahan Esfahani   © Bernhard Musil

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord

Tuesday 9 July 2019 7:30PM

Bach

Max Emanuel Cenčić  © Ann Hoffmann

Max Emanuel Cenčić countertenor; Le Concert de l’Hostel Dieu ensemble; Franck-Emmanuel Comte director, harpsichord

Thursday 11 July 2019 7:30PM

Orlando

Vox Luminis © David Samyn

Vox Luminis; Lionel Meunier artistic director

Saturday 13 July 2019 7:30PM

Bach

Le Concert Spirituel © Guy Vivien

Le Concert Spirituel; Hervé Niquet director

Saturday 27 July 2019 7:30PM

Mozart in Salzburg