Song Recital Series

Rotate to landscape

Viewing this page on a mobile phone?  Rotate your phone to landscape orientation for the best experience.

Wigmore Hall promotes more song recitals each season than any other international venue, regularly featuring the world’s leading singers and pianists.

We are grateful to The Monument Trust for essential additional support for our expanded vocal series

Christian Gerhaher   © Thomas Egli

Christian Gerhaher baritone; Gerold Huber piano

Wednesday 16 January 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

François Le Roux   © Paul Montag

François Le Roux baritone; Olivier Godin piano

Tuesday 22 January 2019 1:00PM

Dutilleux Birthday Celebration

Mary Bevan   © Victoria Cadisch

Mary Bevan soprano; Marcus Farnsworth baritone; Christopher Glynn piano

Tuesday 22 January 2019 7:30PM

Reichardt, Mozart, Beethoven and more

Ailish Tynan   © Benjamin Ealovega

Ailish Tynan soprano; Anna Huntley mezzo-soprano; Benjamin Appl baritone; William Thomas bass; Graham Johnson piano; Shalisha James-Davis actor

Thursday 24 January 2019 7:30PM

Celebrating January

Sofia Fomina   © Alecsandra Raluca Dragoi/Olga Martinez

Sofia Fomina soprano; Oleksiy Palchykov tenor; Rodion Pogossov baritone; Iain Burnside piano

Monday 28 January 2019 7:30PM

Glinka, Shostakovich, Medtner and more

Julia Kleiter   © Theodora Richter/Paris

Julia Kleiter soprano; Werner Güra tenor; Christoph Berner piano

Thursday 31 January 2019 7:30PM

Lieder nach Gedichten von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

James Newby   © Ben McKee

James Newby baritone; Joseph Middleton piano

Sunday 3 February 2019 3:00PM

Einsamkeit: Solitude in Song

Sophie Bevan   © Sussie Ahlburg

Cancelled: Sophie Bevan soprano; Malcolm Martineau piano

Monday 4 February 2019 7:30PM

C Schumann, F Mendelssohn, Schumann, Hinrichs and Lang

Elīna Garanča  © Karina Schwartz

Elīna Garanča mezzo-soprano; Malcolm Martineau piano

Sunday 17 February 2019 7:30PM

Schumann, Wagner and Mahler

Ailish Tynan   © Benjamin Ealovega

Ailish Tynan soprano; Benjamin Appl baritone; Iain Burnside piano

Monday 18 February 2019 7:30PM

Learning Gala Concert: Home Sweet Home

Henk Neven   © Marco Borggreve

Henk Neven baritone; Imogen Cooper piano

Tuesday 19 February 2019 7:30PM

Brahms, Schumann, Schubert and Beethoven

Marlis Petersen   © Yiorgos Mavropoulos

Marlis Petersen soprano; Anke Vondung mezzo-soprano; Werner Güra tenor; Paul Armin Edelmann baritone; Christoph Berner piano; Camillo Radicke piano

Monday 25 February 2019 7:30PM

Schubert, Haydn and Brahms

Iain Burnside   © Tall Wall Media

Sofia Mchedlishvili soprano; Andrey Zhilikhovsky baritone; Iain Burnside piano

Friday 1 March 2019 7:30PM

Rimsky-Korsakov, Glière, Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev and Rachmaninov

Stéphane Degout   © Jean-Baptiste Millot

Stéphane Degout baritone; Alain Planès piano

Saturday 2 March 2019 7:30PM

Debussy, Fauré, Chabrier and Duparc

Brad Mehldau   © Michael Wilson

Brad Mehldau piano; Ian Bostridge tenor

Sunday 3 March 2019 7:30PM

Mehldau and Schumann

Simon Bode   © kroeger-photography.com

Simon Bode tenor; Igor Levit piano

Thursday 14 March 2019 7:30PM

Mozart, Schubert and Corigliano

Dame Sarah Connolly   © Jan Capinski

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; Julius Drake piano; Emily Berrington actor (subject to availability)

Friday 15 March 2019 7:30PM

Argento and Schumann

Renata Pokupić  © Chris Gloag

Renata Pokupić mezzo-soprano; La Serenissima; Adrian Chandler director

Sunday 17 March 2019 7:30PM

L’Amante Abbandonata: Italian Cantatas from the Settecento

Christoph Prégardien   © Marco Borggreve

Christoph Prégardien tenor; Pentaèdre; Joseph Petric accordion

Thursday 21 March 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Nathan Gunn   © Joshua Spencer

Nathan Gunn baritone; Julie Gunn piano

Sunday 24 March 2019 7:30PM

CAKE, Berlin, Waits and more

Paul Appleby   © Frances Marshell

Cancelled: Paul Appleby tenor; Malcolm Martineau piano

Monday 25 March 2019 7:30PM

Aucoin, Britten and Schubert

Ekaterina Semenchuk and Semyon Skigin © Irina Tuminene

Ekaterina Semenchuk mezzo-soprano; Semyon Skigin piano

Monday 1 April 2019 7:30PM

Glinka and Musorgsky

Royal Academy of Music Song Circle © Helen Wills

Royal Academy of Music Song Circle

Tuesday 2 April 2019 7:30PM

The Songs of Carl Loewe

Matthew Rose   © Lena Kern

Matthew Rose bass; Tom Poster piano

Thursday 4 April 2019 7:30PM

Schubert, Liszt, Musorgsky, Poster and Ives

Milan Siljanov

Milan Siljanov bass-baritone; Nino Chokhonelidze piano

Sunday 7 April 2019 3:00PM

Brahms, Finzi, Duparc and Ravel

Christina Landshamer   © Marco Borggreve

Christina Landshamer soprano; Gerold Huber piano

Monday 8 April 2019 7:30PM

Purcell, Copland and Schumann

Sally Matthews   © Sigtryggur Ari Jóhannsson

Sally Matthews soprano; Simon Lepper piano

Thursday 11 April 2019 7:30PM

Grieg, Wagner, Sibelius, Pfitzner and Strauss

Ian Bostridge   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Ian Bostridge tenor; Saskia Giorgini piano

Saturday 13 April 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Gavan Ring   © Anthony Riordan

Gavan Ring baritone; Simon Lepper piano

Sunday 14 April 2019 3:00PM

Schumann, Vaughan Williams, Bodley, Harty and Larchet

Ian Bostridge   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Ian Bostridge tenor; Saskia Giorgini piano

Monday 15 April 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Kathleen Ferrier

Kathleen Ferrier Awards 2019

Wednesday 24 April 2019 1:30PM

Semi-Final

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; Robin Tritschler tenor; Malcolm Martineau piano

Wednesday 24 April 2019 7:30PM

Schumann

Kathleen Ferrier

Kathleen Ferrier Awards 2019

Friday 26 April 2019 6:00PM

Final

Marcus Farnsworth   © Andy Staples

Marcus Farnsworth baritone; James Baillieu piano

Tuesday 30 April 2019 7:30PM

Lines from a Wanderer

Paula Murrihy   © Barbara Aumüller

Paula Murrihy mezzo-soprano; Malcolm Martineau piano

Sunday 5 May 2019 3:00PM

The Mendelssohns and the Schumanns

Clara Mouriz   © Jose Manuel Bielsa

Clara Mouriz mezzo-soprano; Roderick Williams baritone; Adam Walker flute; Guy Johnston cello; Joseph Middleton piano

Monday 6 May 2019 7:30PM

Basque blood and the folksong

Sumi Jo   © Youngho Kang

Sumi Jo soprano; Gary Matthewman piano; Krzysztof Meisinger guitar

Sunday 12 May 2019 3:00PM

Rossini, Villa-Lobos, Tárrega and more

Jacques Imbrailo   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Jacques Imbrailo baritone; Alisdair Hogarth piano

Sunday 26 May 2019 3:00PM

Sibelius and Rachmaninov

Robin Tritschler   © Benjamin Ealovega

Robin Tritschler tenor; Simon Lepper piano

Sunday 26 May 2019 7:30PM

Transitional Seasons

Graham Johnson © Clive Barda

Soraya Mafi soprano; Catriona Morison mezzo-soprano; William Thomas bass; Graham Johnson piano

Sunday 2 June 2019 7:30PM

If Fiordiligi and Dorabella had been Lieder Singers

Camilla Tilling   © Maria Ostlin

Camilla Tilling soprano; Paul Rivinius piano

Tuesday 4 June 2019 7:30PM

Jugend

Maximilian Schmitt   © Christian Kargl

Maximilian Schmitt tenor; Gerold Huber piano

Wednesday 5 June 2019 7:30PM

Liszt, Schubert and Mahler

Gerald Finley   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Gerald Finley bass-baritone; Julius Drake piano

Saturday 15 June 2019 7:30PM

Schubert, Rachmaninov, Turnage and Britten

Leeds Lieder Festival

Leeds Lieder Fundraising Gala

Wednesday 19 June 2019 7:00PM

Franz-Josef Selig   © Marion Köll

Franz-Josef Selig bass; Gerold Huber piano

Saturday 22 June 2019 7:30PM

Loewe, Wolf and Stephan

Matthias Goerne   © Caroline de Bon

Matthias Goerne baritone; Sir Antonio Pappano piano

Sunday 23 June 2019 7:30PM

Shostakovich, Martin and Mahler

Matthias Goerne   © Caroline de Bon

Matthias Goerne baritone; Alexander Schmalcz piano

Wednesday 26 June 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Ian Bostridge   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Ian Bostridge tenor; Lars Vogt piano

Tuesday 2 July 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Brett Polegato   © Peter Phoa

Brett Polegato baritone; Iain Burnside piano

Wednesday 3 July 2019 7:30PM

A Transatlantic Voyage: English Songs from Here to There

Ian Bostridge   © Sim Canetty-Clarke

Ian Bostridge tenor; Lars Vogt piano

Thursday 4 July 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Werner Güra   © Monika Rittershaus

Werner Güra tenor; Christoph Berner piano

Thursday 18 July 2019 7:30PM

Schubert

Dame Sarah Connolly   © Jan Capinski

Dame Sarah Connolly mezzo-soprano; Malcolm Martineau piano

Tuesday 23 July 2019 7:30PM

Schumann, Mahler, Bridge and Britten

Mark Padmore   © Marco Borggreve

Mark Padmore tenor; Paul Lewis piano

Wednesday 24 July 2019 7:30PM

Brahms, Mahler and Schumann

Sir Simon Keenlyside   © Uwe Arens

Sir Simon Keenlyside baritone; Howard McGill woodwind; Gordon Campbell trombone; Richard Pryce double bass; Matthew Regan piano; Mike Smith drums

Friday 26 July 2019 7:30PM

Blue Skies: Songlines to American Music